Day 8 – H is for Halcyon

Halcyon

(adj) denoting a period of time in the past that was idyllically happy and peaceful.

(noun) 1. a tropical Asian and African kingfisher with brightly colored plumage.
2. a mythical bird said by ancient writers to breed in a nest floating at sea at the winter solstice, charming the wind and waves into calm.
Oh, those halcyon days…

I enjoy words that make me reminisce, probably a sign that I’m older than I like to think I am. Halcyon is a good word for that, one that I would stick in my mental “fancy word” folder to use when I want to feel smart. But I probably would not have picked it had it not been for it’s second definition as a noun…

What a mental image! A bird that nests on the sea and charms the winds and waves? Heck yeah! If it wasn’t Saturday, I’d probably do more research on this thing and find cool pictures and backstory…but since it is Saturday and all my family is home and my head kinda aches, I’m just going to leave it in  your capable hands. Or better yet, imaginations! Let me know if you have any good insights on this halcyon bird. Or let me know if you have some halcyon days in your own life. Or, better yet, are you currently living in them?

Until then, have a great weekend! I’ll be back on Monday to continue this crazy month-long challenge, hopefully with a little more spring in my step! Keep on footling!

3 thoughts on “Day 8 – H is for Halcyon

  1. Colin

    Halcyon days… hmm… Here’s an insight from getting older. The past is always better in hindsight, and you never know how good it was until after the fact. Even those times that were painful, when you struggled through each day wondering when the nightmare would be over. Those days help mold and shape the people we become. We might still feel pain looking back, but not nearly as intensely as at the time. And with the perspective of time comes a sense of the bigger picture, that what was painful once is part of a bigger score that is the music of our lives.

    Your halcyon days are always in the past. But that means you’re living them now. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ll have to remember that! These last two years have been very good to me and I do try and remember that I’m making memories that will last…I want to look back on this time in my life and think “Yep, those were the Good Ol’ Days” 🙂 Thanks for the insight!

      Like

Leave a comment